Are you informed?

Check Out The ipl standings 2021

ipl standings 2021

Following the inaugural competition’s suspension in May of this year due to several COVID-19 positive instances across franchises, the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 will resume in the UAE. From September 19 to October 15 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE), the second phase of the lucrative tournament will feature Mumbai Indians vs. Chennai Super Kings. Let’s have a look at ipl standings 2021.

Top Place- Delhi Capitals

It was another “so near yet so far” season for the squad as DC finished first in the league before losing in the playoffs. Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, and Rishabh Pant made up the top order in the batting order, scoring 587, 489, and 419 runs, respectively. Their weak point, though, turned out to be the middle order. The DC bowlers performed admirably, as the bowling attack of Rabada, Nortje, Ashwin, and Axar Patel showed signs of being up to test match standards.

Avesh Khan was also outstanding, taking 24 wickets throughout the competition. The qualifier and knockout match were both lost by DC in the very last over of the game, which could have gone either way. Overall, DC were also unlucky.

Second Place- Chennai Super Kings

CSK defeated Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) under the leadership of Mahendra Singh Dhoni by 27 runs to win their fourth IPL championship. Because there were so many seasoned players on the team, there was a lot of chatter before the competition even began that CSK was the “dad’s army,” but CSK ultimately won.

CSK made a fantastic recovery after placing seventh the previous year. The top order, which was composed of the seasoned Faf Du Plessis and the youthful Rituraj Gaikwad, did well for CSK. With 635 runs total, Rituraj won the Orange Cap for scoring the most runs in the 2021 IPL. The man of the match in the final was Faf, who came in second on the runs table.

Third Place- Royal Challengers Bangalore

RCB are the IPL’s recurrent underachievers despite having at one point or another had some of the greatest and most destructive T20 cricketers in their roster. However, this has frequently turned out to be their downfall as well because these individuals have made the performance of the RCB entirely dependent on their own, and if they have a bad game, the rest of the team falters. It was the same old narrative once more this time.

With Kohli, Maxwell, AB De Villiers, and the reliable Padikkal, RCB appeared to have a strong batting lineup. Jamieson, Chahal, and Siraj appeared to have a strong bowling lineup as well. However, in the elimination game, KKR outplayed RCB and once again exposed their old flaws.

Fourth Place – Kolkata Knight Riders

The Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) and Delhi Capitals (DC) were eliminated in the eliminators and second qualifier, respectively, and KKR made an incredible comeback in the second half of the season to clinch the fourth playoff position before succumbing at the very last moment. Venkatesh Iyer deserves a lot of credit for their second-half performance because he scored 370 runs in 10 innings while hitting four 50-pointers.

Nitish Rana and Shubman Iyer, two KKR batsmen, also had a respectable campaign. The middle order was hurt by the captain’s performance, which was disappointing. Morgan made the curious tactical choice to leave the deadly Andre Russell out of the starting XI.

Fifth Place – Mumbai Indians

The most successful team in IPL history, MI, missed out on a top 4 berth this time after winning 7 games and losing 7, falling short of KKR on run rate to make the playoffs. MI had four victories and three losses when the IPL was halted. In the UAE leg, the team’s performance slipped as their renowned batting struggled in the opening few games.

The most prolific run scorer for MI was Rohit Sharma, who didn’t even rank among the top 10 IPL run scorers. MI was behind in net run rate by the time Ishan Kishan and Surya Kumar Yadav regained their rhythm. Jasprit Bumrah had a successful tournament as a bowler, taking 21 wickets to place third overall.

Sixth Place- Punjab Kings

Out of their 14 games, the Punjab Kings had 6 victories and 8 defeats. The team’s overreliance on the top order was a familiar old tale once more. Mayank Agarwal scored 441 runs in 12 games with 4 half centuries, while KL Rahul scored 628 runs in 13 innings with six half centuries. Apart from these two, none of their other batsmen scored more than 200 runs.

Even KL Rahul’s strategy was questioned because it appeared as though he was torn between accelerating and acting as the sheet anchor. The Indian team’s bowlers performed admirably, with Mohammad Shami leading the way with 19 dismissals, followed by Arsheed Brar (18 dismissals), and Ravi Bishoi (12 wickets).

Seventh Place- Rajasthan Royals

RR’s season was another source of anguish as they finished their 14 matches with 5 wins and 9 losses. When two of RR’s top players, Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer, were ruled out, RR initially took a significant hit. As they were suddenly without a strike bowler, Archer’s absence had a significant negative impact on their bowling. It was believed that RR depended primarily on Sanju Samson and Yashaswi Jaiswal among the top two or three players in the order.

The majority of the time, their middle order was fragile. Chris Morris, Chetan Sakariya, and Mustafizur Rehman performed admirably in the bowling department, but the rest of the group was average. Overall, their plan was significantly damaged by the loss of international talents like Archer, Stokes, and Butler.

For more blogs: Reinceforrnc

Eighth Place – Sunrisers Hyderabad

SRH had a poor IPL 2021 season, winning just three of their fourteen games and finishing last. It was a stark contrast to the previous year, when SRH had managed to make the playoffs. The hopes of SRH were damaged by their erratic batting. The loss of David Warner’s form really harmed SRH, and the team even had to let go of one of the most productive batters in IPL history. 8 games and 195 runs for Warner.

Manish Pandey (292 runs, 8 games), followed by Kane Williamson, was the top run scorer for SRH. When the IPL began after a hiatus, Johny Bairstow, their third-leading run scorer, was not available, which hurt the SRH batting order.

Comments are closed.